Sunfish no more

I bought a Sunfish sailboat a couple of years ago when I lived just minutes from Lake Washington. Living that close to the water, it was very easy for me to get home from work and be on the water in less than an hour. It made for some fun evenings in the Northwest where it can stay light until 9:30pm during the summer.

When I moved to the Portland area last year I took the boat out on the Columbia River a couple of times. That was quite an adventure. The Columbia is fairly quick, and there has to be a steady breeze else you’ll end up way downriver with no way to get back. I only took the boat out twice the whole year.

Rather than try to rationalize hanging onto the boat any longer, I decided to put it up for sale on EBay. Pam is a big EBay shopper, and I figured it was time to get some money flowing into the checking account from that site.

What a great idea. (And Pam will claim that it was her idea until hell freezes over. (Uh, maybe she’s right.))

I took a few photos on a sunny day and uploaded them – even supersized them. I wrote a glowing description of the boat, trailer, and dolly.

I signed up for a 7-day auction. The bidding was sparse at first, and I didn’t think I’d come anywhere near the reserve I’d set. Pam told me not to worry, that the seasoned EBay’ers would end the auction in a flurry of activity.

She was right. The last 5 minutes of the auction was – well – a blizzard of activity. The boat sold for a bunch more than the reserve, but still a very good bargain for the winner when compared to a new set of items.

The person is coming by tomorrow to pick up the boat and drop off the $.

What fun! And I will finally have some room in my garage.

Leave a Reply

