Killer tennis

I have started playing tennis again. I used to play all the time. All the time. Rain, shine, cold, hot. I was ranked in the state of Alabama. But Pam and I had kids and soon Saturday mornings and most evenings were filled with soccer or baseball. I played a couple of times this past July when I was able to spend some time with my brother in North Carolina, but hadn’t played regularly in over 7 years.

This week I found a tennis center here in Vancouver – 12 indoor courts and very reasonable monthly dues. I went for the first time this past Tuesday evening – men’s doubles night. There were a bunch of good players there. Since it was doubles I didn’t have to worry too much about my currently weak ground strokes: I got to the net as fast as possible on every point. I played OK – held my own – and had a great time.

By the end of the evening my thighs and feet were screaming at me. During the 20 minute drive home my legs had a chance to stiffen up, making it almost impossible for me to get out of my car. I walked around like a 90 year old man for a few days. Ugh.

I went again this morning (Saturday) and started off playing well. My legs and feet had recovered, so they weren’t a problem. But 3 hours later I was bushed, and very sore again. But I went ahead and bought a membership at the tennis center.

I love playing on indoor courts. The ball makes such a wonderful sound when it hits off the racket. There’s no need to worry about wind or rain, which is especially important during the long Northwest winters.

Here’s to a healthy winter.

Leave a Reply

