Thank you, Mr. Gore

I’m so glad Al Gore invented the internet. Otherwise I would have had a very frustrating evening (instead of just a kinda frustrating evening).

We gave Alix The Sims 2 game this evening and she immediately started installing it. It got to a particular point each time and then died, complaining about a video driver. Hmm. I gave it a try and it rewarded me with a BSOD, pointing to the video driver. I did a quick check online but there weren’t any updates.

I Googled around for the DLL name and ran across a newsgroup posting relating to The Sims 2 hardware requirements. Hmmm. I jumped to The Sims web site and sure enough, the graphics card on Alix’s 1 year old computer wasn’t up to snuff. They had a list of compatible cards, so with that information I searched BestBuy.com and found a number of them available, one at almost half price. Things were looking up.

I went to Dell.com and looked up the specs on Alix’s computer and yes, it has an AGP card slot. Good. I then hopped back to BestBuy.com, checked local stores for the card’s availability. Yes, the Beaverton store had a bunch of the ones that were almost 50% off in stock!

I checked reviews of various cards online and saw that the card that was on sale was deemed “good.”

So Pam and I hopped in the car and returned a couple hours later with a new video card. I plugged it in and Bam! everything worked like magic, including The Sims 2.

Life is good with the Internet.

Thank you, Mr. Gore, for inventing it. I’ll bet you would have made an excellent president.

Leave a Reply

