Pam’s birthday cruise, part 6 – Roatan Island

During the middle of the night I woke up and took a look at the Ship Map Channel. What the…? We had done a couple of zig-zags and now were doing a loop-de-loop. Huh? The map zoomed out a bit then I could see – Belize and Roatan are so close to each other that it doesn’t really take long to get from here to there. . . so we were in a holding pattern. Didn’t really want to dock at night. So I went back to sleep.

Woke up early and checked the Ship Map Channel again. (I’m becoming addicted to it.). Winds are 20-25. But as we make our way around the south side of the island, the wind drops. Hey! This could be good. During breakfast we all make predictions on whether we’ll actually get to snorkel. And as we dock, we can see clear blue water and coral right beside us. Hey, just let me jump over and do some snorkeling here!

Then the announcements started – most of the tours including ours are on the north side of the island. The side that’s getting pounded by 25 knot winds and big waves. Canceled again. Rats! So we all dash downstairs to see what is available. Hey – Coral Cay Island Snorkeling. Sweet! We quickly choose that one. If the water is anything like what’s outside our ship we’ll be fine. There’s no wind and waves on this side since the wind is out of the north. This could be really good!

We hop on a tired old van and head off to the snorkeling spot. Heh – the van was on its last legs about 10 years ago. Don’t know how it was still running, but it got us there. The skies were still a bit overcast and we could see mist in the distance coming our way, but the water – beautiful. Serene. And we were going snorkeling.

A couple of large ships had wrecked during storms years ago, their hulks standing guard over the snorkeling area. The water was nice and warm and calling our names. We started off in some shallow water – about 6 feet, but the guide told us it would quickly drop off to 50 feet down a ledge, then all the way down to 2000 feet. Cool.

The shallow coral had a lot of sand on top, and I started preparing myself for a disappointing time. But as we headed out to deeper water, the topping sand gave way to the most beautiful coral fields I’ve ever seen. I was floored. The variety. The color. The expansiveness. Unbelievable.

I took picture after picture. I’d drop down to 20 feet and snap a few pictures until my out of practice lungs would start screaming at me to surface. Oh, for a scuba tank! Just let me stay down here for a couple of hours. I don’t need to go too deep – just anywhere along here. Beautiful coral.

I have been spoiled.

I’ll post a couple of pictures here, but take a look at some of the others over on my Flickr site. I’ll wait for you to come back.

Leave a Reply

