Enabling wireless networking in Windows Server 2008 R2 release candidate

This week I upgraded my laptop to Windows Server 2008 R2 release candidate so I can take advantage of the wonders of Hyper-v. (Hyper-v is wicked fast.)

After installing Server 2008 R2 and the drivers, I could see my wireless adapter in the Network Connections window. But, for some reason my wireless adapter could not see my wireless network.

Tethered to my Ethernet cable, I hunted the internet for an answer. I found all sorts of info, but nothing that told he how to make it work. Then I ran across this blog posting at GeeksWithBlogs, and I hit myself in the head – Doh!

I simply needed to turn on the wireless LAN service feature, using Add Features in Server Manager. In Server Manager look for the Features Summary section. In that section, on the right side of the page there’s Add Features. That’s where the WLan magic happens.

image 

Click on Add Feature, and the Add Features Wizard appears.

image 
I took this screen shot after I’d already installed the Wireless LAN Service.

Check the box beside Wireless LAN Service then take the defaults after you click Next.

It was as simple as that. But, that worm hole isn’t intuitive. It would have taken me a long time of stumbling around before I would have noticed it…

One thought on “Enabling wireless networking in Windows Server 2008 R2 release candidate

  1. Wilke Jansoone

    Thanks, took me also a while, when I read your post I remembered having done this in initial release.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

