Quick hit: MSI installation inside VPC 2007 SP1

Ran into an issue this morning while I was trying to install the TFS Administration Tool downloaded from CodePlex. ““Please wait while the installer finishes determining your disk space requirements.”

I waited, then clicked the Retry button. Same thing. Repeat.

I thought it was an issue with the admin tool installer, but then I tried to install the ASP.NET MVC 1.0 release on the same VPC image. It gave me the same error message. (The VPC image contains Windows Server 2008. My host OS is Windows 7.)

image

I did a quick BING search for the error message. The second result led me to Hai’s blog (“You are making my point!”) entry http://www.hyperbina.com/tech/blog/?p=52

Here’s the example command line he uses:

D:\>msiexec.exe /package MyInstallationPackage.msi /qr

I like to see the dialog box messages, so I ran mine without the /qr switch, and both installations worked without a hitch.

Note: I also ran from an administrator command prompt.

Workaround found. Thanks Bing.

One thought on “Quick hit: MSI installation inside VPC 2007 SP1

Leave a Reply

