Sea salt

I’ve developed a strong liking for sea salt. If I have a choice, I’ll always go for it. It has a different texture from typical table salt and a hearty flavor that complements the food it’s put on without overwhelming it. Delicious.

The first time I really noticed it was when Pam came home from the store with a bag of sea salt and ground pepper potato chips. I tried one and I couldn’t put the bag down. Sort of like they say in the commercial. For a few weeks I ate them with almost every meal. I’d even grab a couple to go with my oatmeal in the morning.

A couple of months ago, Pam bought a little bottle with a twist-top grander. At the time I thought it was a bit odd, grinding my own salt before eating it. But it was sea salt, so I had to give it a try. I put on my oatmeal. Wow. What a difference. I tossed out the big container of table salt.

This morning while I made a pot of coffee I microwaved a bowl of old fashioned  oatmeal (I wonder if that confuses the oatmeal), and drank a glass of protein mix. The coffee finished and the oatmeal finished. I poured myself a cup of coffee, added a dash of sea salt and brown sugar to the oatmeal, and headed out to the deck for a nice breakfast in the warm sun. A seagull then another lazily glided to the bird perch that’s out in the water, A neighbor across the water was out on his seawall, removing mangrove pods. I sat for a short while, but soon retreated to the nice warmth of the sun room. I’m ready for spring.

The coffee was steamy, the oatmeal nice and warm.

I hear one of the kids moving about.

Leave a Reply

